These awards were established in 2006 in honor of a pioneer hosta hybridizer and founding member of The American Hosta Society, Eunice V. Fisher of Oshkosh, Wisconsin.

There are two parts to this award. First, the Hybridizer Merit Award is given to a person who has contributed to the advancement of the genus, Hosta, through his or her hybridizing efforts. The second part, the Distinguished Merit Hosta Award, goes to a cultivar of the hybridizer's choice from his or her breeding program.

Eunice Fisher Distinguished
Hybridizer Merit Award



Eunice Fisher
Distinguished Merit Hosta

Mildred Seaver 2006   H. 'Sea Fire'
Mary Chastain 2007   H. 'Lakeside Cupcake'
Robert M. Solberg 2008   H. ‘Ginsu Knife
William & Eleanor Lachman 2009   H. 'Robert Frost'
Dick Ward 2010   H. 'Fat Cat'
Bob Kuk 2011   H. 'Van Wade'
Dr. Kevin Vaughn 2012   H. 'Christmas Tree'
Olga Petryszyn 2013   H. 'Brother Stefan'
Dr. Jim Wilkins 2014   H. 'Wolverine'
Tony Avent 2015   H. 'Branching Out'
Don Dean 2016   H. 'Pure Intentions'
Dr Douglas Beilstein 2017   H. 'Cup of Grace'
Bev and Dave Stegeman 2018   H. 'Midnight Oil'
Jeroen Linneman 2019   H. 'Valleys Pavlova'
No Award 2020   No Award
Hans Hansen 2021   H. 'Diamond Lake'
Rod Kuenster 2022   H. 'Cosmic Crocodile'
Copyright© 2000 -