The Cypress Family

Around 30 genera with over 130 species are present in this family. Most of them are evergreen trees and shrubs that are distributed around the world. They have narrow, scale-like leaves. They are monoecious.

Some sources now lump members of the Taxodiaceae Family into the Cupressaceae Family.

Chinese Cypress
False Cypress
Chinese Fir
Italian Cypress
Siberian Cypress
Oriental Arborvitae
Giant Sequoia
Bald Cypress

Note on Taxonomy - Plant taxonomy is the art and science of classifying plants into groupings in order to help people make sense of the huge diversity found in the world. The people who do this for a living are called taxonomists. They are continually evaluating and re-evaluating how plants are classified. For example, with the recent emergence of DNA analysis, many plants have been changing classification.

Also, there is no one, single universal classification system for plants. Rather, there is a lot of debate among taxonomists which may lead to confusion for the average gardener. That is why, in these family listings, you often see the words "about" or "around" when counting the number of genera or species to include. It is also why new families are created and some of the old ones suddenly fade away. So, don't be surprised if you find slightly different information at other sites or sources. Oh, well.


Copyright 2000-