The Heath Family

This family has about 128 genera with over 4,000 species. Members of this family consist primarily of shrubs and trees and are native to a wide range of regions throughout the world. Some are evergreen while others are deciduous.

Strawberry Tree
Heath Family
Black Huckleberry
Mountain Laurel
Labrador Tea
Rhododendron & Azalea

Note on Taxonomy - Plant taxonomy is the art and science of classifying plants into groupings in order to help people make sense of the huge diversity found in the world. The people who do this for a living are called taxonomists. They are continually evaluating and re-evaluating how plants are classified. For example, with the recent emergence of DNA analysis, many plants have been changing classification.

Also, there is no one, single universal classification system for plants. Rather, there is a lot of debate among taxonomists which may lead to confusion for the average gardener. That is why, in these family listings, you often see the words "about" or "around" when counting the number of genera or species to include. It is also why new families are created and some of the old ones suddenly fade away. So, don't be surprised if you find slightly different information at other sites or sources. Oh, well.


Copyright 2000-