Shasta Daisy

This genus has about 33 species. Leucanthemum is considered a segregate of the genus, Chrysanthemum and may be found in the literature under either name.

Historically, the genus Chrysanthemum, consisted of a large number of species of flowering plants. In recent decades, however, taxonomists have been busy separating plants that were once called Chrysanthemum into several other genera. There is still some disagreement as to the validity of some of these changes, however, as it currently stands, some of the plants once called chrysanthemum are now classified in other  genera including:  Argyranthemum, Dendranthema, Leucanthemopsis, Leucanthemum, Rhodanthemum, and Tanacetum.



Leucanthemum maximum Max Daisy
L. pacificum Gold Chrysanthemum
L. x superbum Shasta Daisy


Copyright 2000-