Historically, the genus Chrysanthemum, consisted of a large number of species of flowering plants. In recent decades, however, taxonomists have been busy separating plants that were once called Chrysanthemum into several other genera. There is still some disagreement as to the validity of some of these changes, however, as it currently stands, some of the plants once called chrysanthemum are now classified in other  genera including:  Argyranthemum, Dendranthema, Leucanthemopsis, Leucanthemum, Rhodanthemum, and Tanacetum.




C. areticum Arctic Chrysanthemum C. leucanthemum Ox Eye Daisy
C. balsamita Costmary  C. maximum Daisy Mum
C. carinaturn
(C. tricolor)
Tricolor or Annual Chrysanthemum C. x morifolium
(C. hortorum)
Hardy Chrysanthemum or
Florists' Mums
C. cineranifolium Dalmatian Pyrethrum C. nipponicum Nippon Oxeye Daisy
    C. coccineum Painted Daisy
C. coccineum 
(C. roseum)
Pyrethrum, Painted Daisy C. parthenium
(Matricaria capensis)
C. coreanum Korean Daisy C. x rubellum  
C. coronarium Crown Daisy Chrysanthemum C. segeturn Corn Marigold
C. elnenriifolium Dalmatian Pyrethrum C. serotinum Giant Daisy
C. frutescens Marguerite, Paris daisy C. x superbum Shasta Daisy

Species Hgt
C. coccineum  1-2 various early summer finely divided
C. x morifolium 1-3 various fall lobed
C. parthenium 1-3 white, yellow summer lobed, cut to midrib
C. x rubellum 2-3 various fall lobed
C. x superbum 2- white summer coarsely toothed

* Guides and Keys are from the book "Herbaceous Perennial Plants A Treatise on their Identification, Culture and Garden Attributes" by Dr Allan M. Armitage of the University of Georgia. Varsity Press, Athens, Georgia. 1989 ISBN 0-942375-00. More on Dr Armitage and his other books.


Copyright© 2000 -